Congress PASSES IT – Huge Blow To Socialism!

( – The House of Representatives has passed a resolution condemning socialism, but with opposition from 86 Democrats. The resolution described socialism as an ideology that necessitates “concentration of power that has time and time again collapsed into communist regimes, totalitarian rule, and brutal dictatorships.”

It passed with the support of all Republicans and 109 Democrats. Rep. Maria Elvira Salazar (R-Fla.) introduced the motion and said she wanted a clear and unequivocal commitment from the United States that it would never normalize or introduce socialist policies.

Democrats who voted against the resolution said they did so out of concern for Medicare and Social Security. Rep. Mark Pocan (D-Wis.) said that Republicans had refused to declare that these do not qualify as socialism and as such, he was voting against a motion he believed was laying the groundwork for cuts to social and healthcare programs. 

Socialism has been growing in popularity in the US as younger generations are persuaded to look away from the evils historically carried out in its name. Young Americans are turning against capitalism, democracy, and the US Constitution in alarming numbers. A poll in 2020 showed that 49% of people aged 16-23 held a positive view of the totalitarian system. Support for capitalism across all age groups had declined from 58% to 55%. Pew Research in 2022 nevertheless showed majority support for capitalism at 57%, but this was down from 65% in 2019. 

The Democratic Socialists of America currently have two members in Congress and have vowed to increase this number. Its current members are Reps. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY) and Rashida Tlaib (D-MI). The group describes itself as the largest socialist organization in America, with chapters in all 50 states.

Its philosophy contends that capitalism pits people against each other, but it does not address the standard of living in capitalist countries, nor does it address the brutal regimes of historical socialist leaders.

Copyright 2023,